Environmental Connection 2015

Environmental Awards at Environmental Connection 2015The International Erosion Control Association (IECA) Region One will honor winners of its Awards of Environmental Excellence during a special program at Environmental Connection 2015, which will be held 15 – 18 February 2015 in Portland, Oregon. Honorees may be nominated by a colleague or be self-nominated, and winners of these environmental awards are selected by the IECA Awards Committee and Professional Development Committee.
The nomination deadline has been EXTENDED to 31 October 2014 (5:00 pm MDT).
2014 Awards Categories
NOTE: Nominations may only be submitted by IECA members.
Environmental Technological Achievement Award
The Environmental & Technological Achievement Award is the IECA’s premier award. It recognizes an outstanding erosion and/or sediment control project, program, or system that demonstrates excellence in natural resource conservation and environmental protection. Nominees will have participated in the development of a new or novel modification of a practice, design or process to reduce erosion and/or sediment pollution, improve water quality or have other relevant, inter-related environmental improvements. Recipients will have shown a high level of environmental benefit by clearly identifying objectives, methods used, results obtained, and details of the benefits to the environment. The recipient does not need to be a member of the IECA.
Sustained Contributor Award
The Sustained Contributor Award recognizes an IECA member who has provided distinguished service to the IECA and has made outstanding contributions to improve the erosion and sediment control industry for a sustained period of time. Winners of this Award will have demonstrated leadership by example through a significant and long-term contribution to the erosion and sediment control industry and to the IECA through one or more of the following: education, government involvement, research, establishment of standards or policies or the development of technology. The recipient must be an active member of the IECA and have held membership for at least 10 years.
Young Professional Award
The Young Professional Award recognizes IECA member 35-years old or less who demonstrates excellence in their work in the industry and is viewed by his/her IECA peers as an emerging industry leader through significant engagement with the IECA. The recipient must be an active member of the IECA.
Contractor of the Year Award
The Contractor of the Year Award recognizes those contractors who have demonstrated excellence in the field execution and application of effective erosion and sediment control practices. Nominees will be recognized for outstanding accomplishments demonstrated on a single or multiple projects or for the development of new practices. The recipient must be an active member of the IECA and have held membership for at least 3 years.
Organization of the Year Award
The Organization of the Year Award recognizes an organization that supports the erosion and sediment control industry. Nominees must have achieved environmental enhancement through the successful application of an effective erosion and/or sediment control practice, program, or partnership. The organization will offer continuing education to the erosion and sediment control/stormwater industry or make other contributions to the industry relative to education, research, or technical advancement. Programs, projects, and partnerships described in the nomination must have been initiated within the past two years. They do not have to be completed by the date of nomination as many of these projects will be ongoing by nature. However, they should be sufficiently advanced to measurably demonstrate success of the program or practice. The recipient can be any organization that has membership representation within the IECA. This award not intended for IECA Chapters.
If you have any questions or would like to request your user information for IECA’s website, please contact IECA via e-mail or at 800-455-4322 (+1 303-640-7554).
SOURCE: IECA Region One, www.ieca.org.